top of page

Super Mario 3D All-Star SM64 120 Stars Completed

I have to confess, this game is much harder than I imagined. If I compare it to Super Mario Odyssey, I would say this game is even more hardcore than the latter one (Though of course it takes more time to complete SMO).



The weird camera angle is the main factor why it is hard to control Mario, you don't know where he would land some time, and even worse is that my Joy-con started to drift halfway through my gameplay. When I moved up joystick, it would input down for a little while before inputting up. So when I am on the edge of a platform and I want to go up, Mario would take a brave jump downwards instead.



Nevertheless, I have completed the game, collecting all 120 stars (121 if you count the one after beating Bowser). I have done it mostly in the order one world by one world, each world took me an hour or two.



I plan to play the game again for speedrun, but I am still considering about whether I should do a 70 stars run or 120 stars run. World records just take <1 hour and <2 hours respectively, but I guess I need 5x time than them. Anyway, I will try them after completing SMS and SMG.


Thank you for reading!




Game Acquired on: 2020/09/28

Game Started on: 2020/10/05

Game Completed on: 2020/10/13

Game 100% Collected on: 2020/10/13

Time spent: Around 35 hours

bottom of page